Friday, September 21, 2012

How do I delete my Facebook account??


How Do I Delete My Facebook Account?

Here we go, a direct link to start the Facebook account deletion process.

Delete Facebook

Click through and follow the instructions or bookmark this page for future reference.
Now, how about a little irony courtesy of the Facebook like button? :-P

The Facebook Account Deletion Process

Your account will be ‘deactivated’ for two weeks. After this period it will be permanently deleted. Do not login to your account during this time, it will cancel the deletion request.
For more detail, check out How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account.

Deleting Facebook Data

In theory, deleting your account will immediately delete all Facebook data. In reality, things are more complicated.
Facebook is a complex piece of software engineered to deliver social data quickly. Instant data removal is not the priority.
So, leverage all your options before account deletion,
  • Lock down all privacy settings.
  • Revoke app permissions and linked accounts e.g. Google and Yahoo!
  • Delete all messages, photos, tags, status updates if possible.
  • Contact friends about tags, photos that you would like deleted.
If this is daunting, concentrate on the more sensitive content.

Leaving Social Data Behind

As hard as you try, some personally identifiable information may remain. This could be something as simple as your name on a message to someone else.
You have little control over this or what others choose to share about you in future. The most you can realistically do is ask your friends to respect your privacy.
Any data that you have shared with Facebook apps and advertisers is with them permanently.
Accept that if you were a heavy Facebook user, you are leaving behind a valuable personal data footprint.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner